Losing a driver’s license is one thing most people don’t worry about until they’re scrambling through their wallet or purse in a panic, unable to find their identification. When this happens, individuals become vulnerable to identity theft—something that can haunt them for years—and they also lose their ability to legally drive. Fortunately for drivers in New Jersey, replacing a missing driver’s license has been made into a fairly simple process, which can be found in detail below.
Reporting a Stolen or Lost Driver’s License
When a driver’s license goes missing, the state recommends that drivers report it immediately to law enforcement, especially if they suspect the license was stolen. Identity theft is devastating, so reporting a stolen or lost license can help protect you if someone else tries assuming your identity.
Applying for a Replacement License
It’s illegal to drive with no license, including those that are damaged or illegible. To receive a replacement license, drivers need to do the following:
- Go to a Motor Vehicle Commission office.
- Complete a driver’s license application, the forms for which cannot be downloaded online.
- Display proof of identification meeting the DMV’s six-point identification requirement.
- Pay $11 fee via cash, debit or credit card, or money order/check made to NJ MVC.
Applying for a Replacement Permit
Depending on the driver’s age, replacing a driver’s permit requires the following:
- Under 17: If under 17 years of age and have completed driving training, drivers must contact their driving school instructor to replace their stolen or lost learner’s permit.
- Over 17: If 17 years or older, drivers must visit an MVC office with driver testing services, pay a $3 fee (cash, credit/debit card, or money order/check), and meet the six-point identification requirement.
Identification Point Requirements
To help prevent the crime of identity theft, New Jersey’s MVC created a checklist for its six-point ID requirements, meaning point values are assigned to the various types of identification it accepts. Drivers need to bring the following:
- A minimum of one primary document (four points), such as a birth certificate, nondriver ID card, or U.S. passport that’s valid or has been expired less than three years.
- A minimum of one secondary document, such as a marriage, domestic partnership, or civil union certificate (three points); social security card (one point); or college/U.S. school photo ID plus school transcript (two points).
- If necessary, proof of New Jersey residency.
Regarding proof of residency, if neither the primary nor secondary ID document lists a current address (PO boxes not accepted), drivers need additional documentation proving they are New Jersey residents, such as a utility bill, a credit card bill, or an original rental or lease agreement. These documents must be originals or certified copies. Further proof of legal U.S. presence might be required for drivers who aren’t U.S. citizens.
Think you or someone you know is in need of Behind the Wheel Training? Training Wheels is an Atlantic City driving school specializing in teaching new teen drivers how to stay safe on the road. For more information on our lessons, please click here.
Copyright: dolgachov / 123RF Stock Photo